Customer reviews for Green Blue

Green Blue

This colour will at times read green, at other times blue, depending on which colours are put with it. Dark Tones Undercoat.
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
17 out of 20(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Green Blue
Review 1 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBrett
fromBuxton, Derbyshire SK17, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Finish:Exterior Eggshell

Great paint to work with, excellent results.

Posted14 July 2014
Followed the instructions to a "tee" and have great results. Very easy to clean the brushes after too. I do judge paint by how it stands the test of time and I have only just finished painting. Ask me again in a couple of years - we are exposed to the weather here so this will be a good test.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarElaine1969
fromBanbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Finish:Exterior Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful true duck egg colour

Posted08 July 2014
I've been in love with Farrow and Ball paint for several years now. I purchased the Green Blue Exterior Eggshell to paint my garden arbour. The finished effect is quite striking and I love it. It's what I would call a true duck egg blue and not too brash as some other brands are. F&B is so easy to use and there is no need for horrid white spirits for cleaning up brushes afterwards as you only need warm water and a bit of soap. A little of this paint goes a long way so do not be put off by the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarFreddie
fromWiltshire, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Finish:Exterior Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

exellent product covers well

Posted02 July 2014
Excellent product nice to work with first class finish.
We have a grade two listed cottage which was looking a bit tatty it now looks great,well worth paying the extra for your paint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Final Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarruss222
fromBroadstairs Kent UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Finish:Full Gloss
No, I do not recommend this product.

completely unuseable product

Posted10 February 2014
Having read all of the literature about the B&F product range and how it is specifically designed for exterior wood including doors I was very disappointed with the final results. I followed all of the instructions thoroughly in preparing the door and having applied B & F undercoat/primer I felt it was a good substrate for the final gloss coats. I used a high quality fine synthetic brush throughout. Following the instructions for the top coat I found it impossible to keep even a small "wet" edge to allow me to brush on the paint - as a result the paint I had only just applied started to drag and appeared to be drying almost immediately - as a consequence the finish when dried was horrible with brush marks showing throughout. I was so disappointed that I purchased a completely different brand of paint and completely rubbed down the door and recoated - perfect results this time! Having spent nearly £50 on both undercoat primer and gloss paint I was truly disappointed, and as a result have spent a further 2 days correcting the issue. I will not be recommending B&F to my friends and family.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarOtterhampton
fromSomerset uk
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Finish:Estate Emulsion
Yes, I recommend this product.

Good colour, not predominantly green or blue

Posted06 February 2014
Good colour, not overpowering, not bland, clean and bright
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLittleGemBlue
fromDorking, Surrey, UK
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Finish:Exterior Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

Stunning colour, can't wait to paint something else!

Posted17 September 2013
This colour is amazing! Used exterior eggshell to paint some garden furniture which has turned out stunning. Sometimes when I look out the window it looks green and at other times blue so it's name really does say it all. It also sometimes looks lighter and sometimes darker which is just lovely as it adds so much interest and depth to this lovely colour.
First time using F&B paint and am now wondering what took me so long! I'm now obsessed with what others colours I can use next!
So glad I tried it! :-)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMG40
fromNorth West UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Finish:Estate Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

GORGEOUS!

Posted03 September 2013
I adore this colour. I bought the estate eggshell to update some old oak kitchen cupboard doors. Looks fabulous, paint is low-odour, easy to use, dried quickly. I'm very impressed!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarWorkingMama
fromWales
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Finish:Exterior Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

This colour is just perfect for a period home!

Posted29 August 2013
We used the eggshell for our driveway gate and the gloss for the front door. It looks exactly like a period blue/green duck egg should look as opposed to the more modern varieties.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Final Results 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarSherry2
fromScotland
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Finish:Estate Emulsion
No, I do not recommend this product.

Not true to colour card

Posted27 August 2013
Was unable to use this paint as it was much darker on wall than expected.
Although colour is attractive it wasn't what I wanted.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarIndie
fromLondon
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Finish:Estate Emulsion
Yes, I recommend this product.

Fantastic

Posted13 August 2013
I love this colour - it has made a world of difference to my bedroom - I love how F&B colours are so rich and to add to that this one is surprisingly bright.
One tip as always for paints from F&B - always buy a tester pot as the colour is completely different from what is shown on the website and if you're looking for a more muted tone this isnt it!
A happy customer!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMarthamouse
fromEast Riding of Yorkshire, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Finish:Exterior Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

I just love this colour.

Posted06 August 2013
User submitted photo
I've used this to paint my summerhouse and it looks absolutely fabulous. It has covered really well (lots of preperation work first mind you) and the finish is just what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRossMac
Yes, I recommend this product.

High quality product

Posted23 July 2013
F&B Green Blue was an easy paint to apply and the final results were excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarxbloke100
Yes, I recommend this product.

Hard wearing paint

Posted31 May 2013
It's worth paying the extra for quality paint and farrow and ball make great quality paint. Brilliant colours to choose from also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMumble
fromStockport, UK
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Finish:Modern Emulsion
Yes, I recommend this product.

Superb colour and beautiful finish.

Posted06 May 2013
We painted our bathroom with this colour, it is so relaxing and a beautiful shade, blue in some lights green in others, just as it's name suggests. It is the first time we have used Farrow and Ball, but it will not be the last as the quality is fabulous and the finish from modern emulsion is wonderful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSusieSue
fromNorthampton, UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Finish:Estate Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

Lovely shade not too blue and too green

Posted14 April 2013
We use this we new white and we love the outcome. Very pretty colour for a bedroom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMark515
fromIndiana, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Finish:Full Gloss
Yes, I recommend this product.

Thrilled With the Results!

Posted26 October 2012
The online ordering, in my case, was easy and simple. The order was processed in a timely and efficient manner AND the color swatches I ordered prior, were true to the actual color of the paint I received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarpompomjojo123
fromKent, UK
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Finish:Estate Emulsion
Yes, I recommend this product.

Beautiful colour

Posted28 September 2012
This is a lovely, subtle shade of pale green. Even though it is very light, the quality of the paint means that coverage is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarmer123
fromFrederick, MD, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Finish:Estate Emulsion

colour highly dependent on the light in which it's used

Posted26 September 2012
on one wall it was green, on another (in the same room) it was aqua blue. I didn't really care for the color in the room, I was hoping it would look more like verdegris.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Final Results 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarKaren
fromLincoln
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Finish:Exterior Eggshell
Yes, I recommend this product.

Oh dear - this colour has changed

Posted04 September 2012
This colour replaced the National Trust paint colour Chartwell Green when Farrow and Ball stopped selling NT paints. I have used the old Chartwell Green and the Green Blue subsequently for a number of years. This time, however, the finished colour is definately lighter than it used to be and has less of a green finish. Still a colour that I like but now a distant cousin to the Chartwell - bit of a shame really.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Green Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Final Results 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarcarl2958
fromChesterfiled UK
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Finish:Full Gloss
No, I do not recommend this product.

Use of water based 'Full Gloss'

Posted30 August 2012
Attempting to use Farrow and Ball's 'Full Gloss' (Green Blue) proves extremely difficult in terms of handling, due to the rapid drying time of the paint. The acrylic properties of the medium affects flow, making it impossible to obtain an overall even, high gloss, finish - (brush marks cannot be 'laid off').
In this instance the paint was used to decorate an external door with moudlings and by the time these areas were complete - before moving onto the panels of the door - they had a surface dryness that made blending into these impossible. Both use of brush alone and in combination with radiator roller - (in an attempt at an even surface that could be laid off with a brush) - proved futile in obtaining an even finish.
In order to slow drying time and achieve a fuller gloss surface the brush has to be overloaded with paint, which naturally makes handling impossible on a vertical surface and brings other problems with differing drying rates.
The final effect does not look give a 'gloss' look.
Farrow and Ball paint has always been exceptional in terms of the subtle and sophisticated colour range, the density of the pigments, the 'hiding' power and consequent ease of handling and overall finish. However because of the physical properties of this water based paint and consequent impossibility of handling and uneven finish I would not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from Farrow and BallBy Farrow & BallCustomer Services07 September 2012
We are sorry to hear of these problems with our Full Gloss paint.

We did a lot of research and development with this product a few years ago and the Paint Research Association gave it an excellent review. However the time at which all water based paints remain workable is shorter than oils so different techniques are required if brush marks are to be avoided.

A further reduction to this time may well be experienced in the summer months when warm weather and drying winds will increase the rate of evaporation. In these circumstances we would advise that you compensate by thinning the paint with between 5 and 10% water. The gloss should be applied quickly and accurately and you have to avoid overworking or going back to rework the drying paint.

For a panelled door once the mouldings have been painted I would advise the quick application of the frame using a four inch short pile roller.

From your description it would seem that you have followed most of our recommendations apart from the thinning. We might therefore suggest that you lightly sand the existing surface before applying a final coat.

It may well help that the ambient temperatures are now dropping now that the summer is at an end. We hope that this will be of some help but please contact our Service and Technical team on 01202 850240 if you have any further questions.
1 2 next>>